Certified Autism Specialist


Apply for CAS


Certified Autism Specialist™is defined as a professional who is responsible for the support and/or services provided to an individual on the autism spectrum that directly relates to the professionals specific scope of practice.

Certified Autism Specialist Eligibility Requirements:

1. Master’s Degree: Applicants must have earned a master’s degree in special education, education, educational psychology, psychology, human development, early childhood education, speech/language pathology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, social work, or closely related field. A professional not holding a license number or teaching certification number are required to upload their college transcripts. If you don’t have your master’s degree you may qualify for the Autism Certificate. The master’s degree requirement will be waived if the applicant has a bachelor’s degree and at least 10 years of experience.

2. Two Years: Applicants must have two years experience working in a field that treats or supports individuals with autism.

3. 14 CE hours: Applicants must have earned 14 hours of continuing education that directly relates to autism within the last two years.

4. Autism Competency Exam: Applicants must pass the Autism Competency Exam. The exam is taken online and is included in the price of your CAS application.


Applicants Typically Include

Education Professionals

Special Education Teachers

Special Education Directors

School Psychologists

Behavior Specialists

School Counselors

Classroom Teachers


School Nurses

Licensed Professionals

Speech Language Pathologists

Occupational Therapists

BCBA and ABA Professionals

Physical Therapists


Clinical Social Workers

Licensed Professional Counselors

RN Nurses

Recreational Therapists


Application Process:

  1. Complete all areas of the online application and submit.
  2. IBCCES will review required fields.
  3. You will be provided a link to take the 62 question Autism Competency exam.
  4. Eligible candidates will be issued a credential number and receive a wallet ID card by mail. Your credential number can be verified by employers at www.ibcces.org

Registry Fee

The Registry fee includes application review, Autism Competency Exam, issuance of certification number, certificate, and wallet ID card sent via mail.

Certified Autism Specialist Credentialing Fee: *$495.00 (valid for two years)

Certified Autism Specialist Renewal Every Two Years: $199.00

* The Registry fee will be refunded if the applicant is not approved (minus $50 to cover processing and exam fee).


1.01 Professional Competence

Use reliable research and self disclosure when presenting (otherwise known as personal experiences).

1.02 Private Conduct

CAS credentialed professionals should not permit their private conduct to interfere with their ability to fulfill their professional responsibilities.

1.03 Dishonesty, Fraud, and Deception

CAS credentialed professionals should not participate in, be associated with or condone others regarding dishonesty, fraud, or deception.

1.04 Professional Impairment

(a) CAS credentialed professionals should not allow their own personal problems, substance abuse, or mental health difficulties to interfere with their professional judgment.

1.05 Misrepresentation

(a) CAS credentialed professionals should make clear distinctions between statements made as a representative of personal and of IBCCES-CAS credential

1.06 Representing an IBCCES credential

(a) CAS credentialed professionals should work to maintain high standards of practice.

(b) social media pictures and contacts shall represent high standards of practice (professional headshot suggested)

(c) posts made on open social media sites are suggested to be monitored to maintain a high standard of practice.

Download the CAS Standards of Practice Here

The CAS credential, as used by authorized persons, certifies that the professional has met the credentialing qualifications. The CAS credential represents and includes education, career review and continuing education which enhances the individual’s qualifications, advanced knowledge and practice.

Credentialing shall be effective upon the date issued and shall expire at the end of 24 months from the

date of issuance. Re-certification requires 14 contact hours of continuing education or professional

development hours from any industry wide approved provider that directly relates to one of the nine

core areas of autism.